Review ratings

So I see you put stars everywhere, that’s really nice and all, but what do they really mean?

(*****) – Simply devine chocolate. The best of the best! A rare find.

(****) – A perfect bar! Remarkable tastes and textures. Truely a fine chocolate!

(***) – a really interesting bar. Well worth the try, though it isn’t as amazing as chocolate can be.

(**) – Hey, it is chocolate, but there is much better stuff out there!

(*) – darn, did I actually buy this? What was I thinking!

Remember, this are my personal opinions. Please, be my guest and try the bars yourself and see if you agree.

As of january 2019, I changed from a general rating to a more detailed scoring system.

How I draw my conclusion is based on 5 subcategories which are scored during review tastings. There are always several tastings before a final verdict. Chocolate is tasted at different times at different days.

Finally I score:

  • Visual appeal: 5 points
  • Aroma: 5 points
  • Melt and mouth feel: 5 points
  • Flavor profile: 5 points
  • Complexity: 5 points

The sum of the awarded points per subcategorie gives the final score out of 25 points. This number is the total score of the chocolate and translates in a star rating as shown in the title of the review.

The ratings are awarded as follows:

  • 0-4,9 points total: *
  • 5-9,9 points total: **
  • 10-14,9 points total: ***
  • 15-17,4 points total: *** 1/2
  • 17,5-19,9 points total: ****
  • 20-22,4 points total: **** 1/2
  • 22,5-25 points total: *****

Knowing my appreciation on the 5 subcategories will allow readers to judge whether a certain element is important to them. Chocolate makers will be able to see how I appreciate their product on different levels.

Is this all terribly important? I hope not. Consider it a guide in your discoveries of the world of fine chocolate. And by all means, taste, try and savour every fine chocolate you can find. It will open up your world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *